New Resources
Check out our new (and returning) databases:
- RILM This link opens in a new windowRépertoire International de Littérature Musicale, commonly known by its acronym RILM, is a nonprofit organization that offers digital collections and advanced tools for locating research on all topics related to music.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowFind statistics, consumer survey results and industry studies from over 22500 sources on over 60000 topics on the internet's leading statistics database.
Looking for Articles?
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowEducation Resource Information Center (good for articles on music education)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text digital archive featuring many important music journals
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowSingle most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature, 1973-present.
- RILM This link opens in a new windowRépertoire International de Littérature Musicale, commonly known by its acronym RILM, is a nonprofit organization that offers digital collections and advanced tools for locating research on all topics related to music.
Reference Resources
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowGrove Music Online, Encyclopedia of Popular Music, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music
- Gale Music eBooksThe Rodgers and Hammerstein Encyclopedia, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990, Encyclopedia of National Anthems, and Cambridge Mozart Encylopedia
The Craft of Research
Book Stacks
Q 180.55.M4 B66 2003
A Guide to Library Research in Music
Music Stacks
ML 3797 .B29 2008
- Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia Music, theater, and dance resources from the Library of Congress. The "Special Presentations" are especially interesting.
Oxford Guide to Library Research
Book Stacks
Z710 .M23 2005
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music
Music Stacks
ML3797 .D76 2010
Looking for documentaries?
If you're looking for academic videos or documentaries, you can always check the catalog to see what we have in the 3rd floor Atrium (where our academic DVDs are), or check out the following database:
- AVON: Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Recordings @ North Hall
Scores @ North Hall
Searching for Scores and Sound Recordings
Scores and CDs are located in the Music Library on the 1st floor South. Cassettes and Records (called "phonodiscs") are located in the closed stacks--ask for them at the Library Service Desk (you can check them out or listen to them in the library).
There are a few different ways to use the MU Library Catalog to find scores and sound recordings located in our Library:
- Search
- The default search box searches by keywords. You might select your two or three keywords from among the following information:
- Composer
- Title or portion of title
- Instrument(s)
- Distinctive number(s) (opus or thematic index numbers)
- Performer(s)
- Key
- The default search box searches by keywords. You might select your two or three keywords from among the following information:
- Advanced Search
- You can choose specific fields (i.e. author or composer, title, or subject heading) to search
- Limits
- Once you have a list of titles, you can use the facets on the left to limit your results to one of the following:
- Resource Type - Scores
- Resource Type - Audio visual
- Library Location - Closed Stacks
- Library Location First Floor South - CD
- Once you have a list of titles, you can use the facets on the left to limit your results to one of the following:
Other Free Websites to Try Searching for Scores:
- Sibley Music Library Music Scorespublic domain scores at the University of Rochester
Composer Information
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowContains the Grove Encyclopedia, which is THE music encyclopedia and the best place to start when looking for information about music-related people. The online version includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, New Grove Jazz, and New Grove Opera.
Subject Research Guides
Music Reference - 1st Floor South
ML128-ML134
Research guides list potential sources for specific subjects such as Beethoven, Copland, and many others.
- Biography Research Guide (Musicians)Some general music biography sources from the Library's Biography Research Guide.
Uniform Titles
What is a Uniform Title? Why does it matter?
Almost all scores and sound recordings (CDs, cassettes, and records) in the library have Uniform Titles. Uniform Titles help organize music materials, so that the many versions of one work are brought together under one heading in the online catalog. Understanding Uniform Titles can help you search more efficiently for scores and sound recordings.
For additional help on Uniform Titles, see "Making the Most of the Music Library: Using Uniform Titles" below from the Cook Music Library at Indiana University. This site provides detailed information about uniform titles and a great tutorial which assists users in understanding and creating uniform titles.
Dissertations
To obtain a dissertation, you can try to borrow it through ILL, but be aware that most institutions do not lend dissertations, or they charge for lending. It is also possible to purchase copies of most dissertations.
If you don't find an appropriate dissertation citation, go to the Library Service Desk. Any of the librarians can help you do a special database search for dissertations.
See also our Dissertations & Theses page which includes sites with links to fulltext dissertations online.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowEnter your topic. To limit, look on the left side--first under "Format", then under "Book", click the box in front of "Thesis/dissertation"
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowMusic Index is best used when searching for music education dissertations. Dissertation citations are taken from Dissertation Abstracts International. To search for only dissertations, use the “Expert” search and select “dissertation” next to “Document Type”.
- Doctoral Dissertations in MusicologyThis is a source for citations to dissertations in musicology.
- UMI Dissertation ExpressThis service will tell you what dissertations are available to purchase from UMI. Once you have located the dissertation, request it through Illiad and we will try to get it for you.
- EBSCO Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window Does not contain full text. It can be difficult to obtain dissertations via ILL.
Subject Librarian
hjackson@mansfield.edu
112 North Hall Library
Mansfield University
Mansfield, PA 16933
Librarian for: African American Studies, English, First Year Experience, History, international students, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Student Success Services, World Languages
Pronouns: she/her
Music Websites
- Bach Bibliography Database of secondary works on Bach compiled by Yo Tomita "for the global community of Bach scholars"
- International Music Score Library Project / Petrucci Music Library The goal of the Petrucci Music Library is "to create a virtual library containing all public domain music, as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge." As of Feb. 15, 2011, it contained 85,000 scores.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Music From the University of California at Santa Barbara, a broad-based site with links to resources in Early & Traditional Music; Seventeenth Century; Eighteenth Century; Nineteenth Century; Twentieth Century; Non-Western & Minority Culture Music; Theory & Technical; Computers & Music; and more.
The Cadence
- Cadence "The Last Thing In Music"Publication of the Music Education Department.
Issues run from 1929-1942