North Hall Library

 

Find Journal Articles 学術論文を探す

Find Journal Articles

 Journal articles are essential for research and most are available electronically online in the databases to which the North Hall Library subscribes.  An explanation of newspaper, journal and scholarly articles is found here: Confusing Terms: Journals vs. Articles. 

Journal articles are good for current information on specific topics.   To search for articles use the library's online databases.

1).  Good places to start when looking for articles on a specific topic are the General Topic Databases.

2).  Expand your search by using Subject-Specific Databases.  We have many databases for different subjects.

3).  If we do not have a journal article online, the MU Availability Button can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to access the full-text, or to send an Interlibrary loan request.

4).  Journals List If you know the title of the journal, look it up here & it will tell you if MU has it and if so, where. If it is available online, it will link to it.

5).  Find the full text of a specific article by using the library's Article Search.

6).  Please watch these VIDEOS to learn how to find an article from a Citation or to locate a journal by Title タイトル . 

Scroll down the page to the link for Using EBSCOhost Tutorials to learn about various databases and how to do  Basic or Advanced searching.  

 

 

 

Research Process and Search Strategy Hints

6 Steps in the Research Process

  1. Choose Topic
    • Break your topic into keywords & consider how to combine those words
  2. Build background knowledge
    • Textbook, Encyclopedia, Gale Virtual Reference Library
  3. Find Books
  4. Find Articles
  5. Evaluate your sources
  6. Cite your sources

Research Strategy Hints are available on North Hall Library's Research Help page.  Please click on the down arrow for Evaluating Sources information and other library searching help..   

Databases データベース

General Topic Databases

 

 Subject-Specific Databases -  Browse the complete list of North Hall Library's collection of online databases.

Choosing Search Terms

Keyword searching is choosing terms to use in the catalog or journal databases for information on your topic. 

Decide on a topic   

Break your topic into keywords

Do your keywords match the ones the database or catalog is using?  Try to think of other ways to express the same concept, for example:  Cameras in the courtroom, televising trials, or broadcasting court proceedings.  Try looking at the subject headings or descriptors.  If there is a thesaurus, use it to help you identify subject terms for that database.  Be aware that different databases may use different terminology.

Connect your keywords in one of these ways:   

 Exact phrase - " "   Example:  "Cameras in the courtroom"

 And - All the words  Example:  Broadcasting and court

 Or - Any of the words  Example:  Court or Trial

 Not -  Example:  Broadcasting not radio